A 2016 of Growth and Learning

Assalamu’alaikum all, happy new year everyone! Just thought I would like to share a little wrap-up of my 2016 here since it’s been a while since my last update. I hope all of you are well and smiling and welcoming 2017 with a fresh and rejuvenated spirit, just like me.

2016 marks my second year of motherhood. I welcomed my baby boy in May 2015 and entered the beginning of 2016 with a 7-month old. In 2016, we celebrated his 1st birthday by going on a short trip to Malacca as a little family of three. Alhamdulillah he’s currently 19-month now as we speak, literally.

Babywearing kept me busy in the first half of 2016. I fell in love with the art of wrapping and practiced babywearing the lil bub a lot with a variety of wraps and eventually decided to get a woven wrap from Carering Sling. So much so that I got the opportunity to be involved in a babywearing photoshoot with Jars of Fluff. It was pretty cool and I got to try the Serenity jacquard woven wrap by Soul Slings in size 3. In the photoshoot I did a Poppins carry, one of my favourite carries (because Poppins is just so pretty!) but also one out of only two shorty carries that I know of.

You need a village to raise a child indeed. Alhamdulillah for the mommy friends that Allah has blessed me with in 2016, whom I met personally through Ummi fitness dates and also, online through FB groups. Hehe my mummy village also happens to be online too most of the time. #socialmediamummyvillage

Being your own person. In March I started a dedicated art platform called Mekar Maker (@mekarmaker in Instagram) to showcase my embroidery works and other creative pursuits. 2016 also saw me spending more time pursuing creative interests, which greatly helped me in my motherhood journey. Honestly I do experience some mommy guilt doing this, but I realised it was important as I got the chance to just be my own person amidst being a mother, wife, daughter, sister, friend which in turn helped me be a more confident and happy mommy. Alhamdulillah this venture led me to meet like-minded creative individuals whom I admire for their principles and creative work.

So those are my highlights of 2016 Alhamdulillah. Among these highlights there were definitely some lows which were pretty rough and so painful. But, important lessons indeed which is so essential to keep the heart in remembering Him and purify our occupied, distracted hearts MashaAllah. In 2017 I hope to continue serving Him with all that He has blessed me with in my many roles, and I hope to do it well insyaAllah. May this new year bring plenty of opportunities, happiness, joy, sustenance in many forms and most importantly contentment and gratefulness. InsyaAllah ameen.

-M.

Leave a comment