Favorite Books At Different Stages of Childhood

Daily writing prompt
Do you remember your favorite book from childhood?

When I was in primary school, I really loved Enid Blyton books! I remember loving a particular one with a secret garden cover, but can’t remember the title. I also enjoyed books by Roahl Dahl – Matilda, James and The Giant Peach as well as Charlie and The Chocolate Factory.

Stepping into adolescent ages, I loved Sweet Valley High and The Babysitter’s Club series. I would go to the nearest library and find every title in the series, and borrow 4 to 8 books at one go!

Then in my teens was when Harry Potter fever started, and I remember reading the first book when I was 13 and LOVED IT. I think coz it came at the right time – it was at the age I felt left out a lot and could relate to Harry; I shared his joy of discovering a world that he actually belonged to. Ron made me laugh and Hermione, how could you not eventually love her character. I remember the long queues at bookstores every new book launch and awaiting every book with excitement. Hmm, if I could name a favorite one I think I liked book 4 the best coz I remember the excitement of discovering the other two wizarding schools as well the vibe of the whole triwizard tournament feels!

I know the prompt only asked for one book but I can’t help including the other books in different stages of my childhood. It was fun going into different worlds and realities through books; you could say it was like an escape – thank God there was no social media back then – I think that’s why I loved reading so much back then.

Leave a comment