Strawberry Cheesecake for Love

strawberry cheesecake

Last week I attempted to make a cheesecake for my husband’s birthday. H is a cheese-lover all around so I wanted to impress him with a cheesecake made by yours truly the wife.

(Also wanted to gain extra points for pahala by following the Prophet’s s.a.w sunnah of serving the husband teehee).

This is my first time making a baked cheesecake. Previously I did a no-bake mango cheesecake which ended up tasting like an ice-cream cake – which was pretty yummy actually. I followed the recipe from here.

(The recipe was for blueberry cheesecake which I initially wanted to make but because I only bought the stuff the night before his birthday, shopping at my neighbourhood markets, it so happens that the blueberries were out of stock so I changed it up to strawberries instead).

I had fun making it, and even added some chopped-up strawberries into it. My sister was keen to help and she helped me cracked the eggs, mashed the strawberries and mix the digestive biscuits with the butter for the bottom of the cheesecake.

The funny thing is that it didn’t turn out the way I envisioned it to be, read on to find out why.

One of the ingredients in the recipe was for sour cream, which is hard to get here, and wasn’t available at the shops nearby my house. So I googled and came across a page which said that you can use yoghurt as a replacement but due to its thinner consistency they suggested to add a little bit of baking powder. Which I (foolishly) did. Into my cheesecake batter.

Which turned out to be a big mistake.

(Who puts baking powder into a cheesecake recipe?? Me.)

My oven is the see-through kind so I watched, horrified, as the cake rose and rose and ballooned. Luckily it didn’t explode.

At the same time thinking of justifying and convincing myself that the cake was going to turn out “alright”. While all the while thinking of how silly I was.

After 1 hour as the recipe calls for, I switched off the oven and let the cake cool down. Fortunately, it did and the balloon cake deflated to a flat level. However, that’s why it has the light brown layer on top instead of a smooth cream-ish white cheesecake color it’s supposed to have.

As the rest of the cheesecake actually turned out okay, I decided that, despite the minor blunder, this cake was a success Alhamdulillah. So I made a strawberry jam and spread it all over the top of the cheesecake, also meant to be a “cover-up” for the surface of the cake. Then I sliced some strawberries and decorated it on top of the cheesecake.

What’s important is my husband the birthday boy loves it.😀

And the cake was eaten up within a day in my family household. Yey *pats back*

I still want to make that blueberry cheesecake though. InsyaAllah. Hehe.

Leave a Reply

