What a Colorful World

I wish I could write poetic words like Elif Shafak in The Forty Rules of Love or bring you into another world like Rumi or describe the surrounding greenery and mountainous terrains in vivid detail like Cheryl Strayed in Wild.

But I am a journey and so are my words.

However that shall not stop me from attempting this colorful daily prompt!

Write about anything you’d like, but make sure that all seven colors of the rainbow — red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo, violet — make an appearance in the post, either through word or image.

When I see red, I see anger. But I also see boldness. A red lipstick, in warm and cool tones. I am also reminded of the upcoming Chinese New Year festivities, red being the auspicious color for the Chinese.

When I see orange, I see cheerfulness. But I also see uniqueness. Someone or something who does not want to be ordinary. Someone who wants and dares to be different.

When I see yellow, I see the sunflower! The color of someone who always brightens up someone else’s day. Someone who is always smiling and putting others first. I also see happiness🙂 See, even this smiley face is yellow.😀

When I see green, I see tranquility. Green is always associated with envy “green with envy”, but green to me is the color of peace. The surrounding greenery, the trees, the grass, the many shades of green that encompass our everyday lives peacefully without disturbance.

When I see blue, I see business. Corporate. Efficiency. These are the first things that come to my mind when I see the color blue. Also, Facebook.😛

When I see indigo, I see a deep passionate soul. Indigo is a very specific and unique shade of blue/purple, sometimes leaning to blue, sometimes leaning to purple, but overall a deep, intense color. Kind of like a deep and intense person.

When I see violet, I see orchids! Orchids being the flower of Singapore, and because my favorite color is this shade of purple. Which, I just realized, explains my link colors. I am suddenly reminded of eggplant and mangosteens.

Inspired by – Daily Prompt: Roy G. Biv

One thought on “What a Colorful World

Leave a Reply

