A Good Date (Weekly Writing Challenge: Ghosts of December 23rds Past)

December 23rd is actually pretty significant to me.

On 23rd December 2006, my father passed away.

On 23rd December 2012, I got engaged.

On 23rd December 2013, I am a one-year old fiance.

Looking into the future…

On 23rd December 2014, I would have already became a wife.

On 23rd December 2015, perhaps I will be a mother? But I can’t imagine myself as a mother yet and though I love babies and kids in general, the idea of me as a mother terrifies me – for now.

I’ve already written about the December 23rd of 2006 here, and the December 23rd of 2012 here.

I spent 23rd December 2013 pretty ordinarily. I decided to fast my last few days of Ramadhan. I dressed up in a grey long sleeved top and my favorite blue flower skirt with Cath Kidston inspired flower prints. In the morning, I wished my fiance a happy one year engagement-sary. Then, I continued my never-ending wedding errands, liaising with my wedding card designer and friend on the final edits of the card. I also queried a potential printer to send my cards to. I managed to tick off some items in my to-do list.

In the evening, I met up with my best friend who is also my maid-of-honor, for a catch-up over dinner at Old Town White Coffee. She had just came back from holidaying in Europe recently and was ready with goodies from Paris and London. We also exchanged gifts – not because of Christmas since we don’t celebrate it – but because we were both born in December and are just a week apart from each other. After dinner we rushed to the nearest mosque to perform our Maghrib prayers, and I had a few moments of calm as the Imam recited some selawat on Prophet Muhammad s.a.w. We walked and talked a little bit more after that, and then headed back to the direction of our homes shortly after.

It was a beautiful day. Ordinary… and beautiful.🙂

Weekly Writing Challenge: Ghosts of December 23rds Past

10 thoughts on “A Good Date (Weekly Writing Challenge: Ghosts of December 23rds Past)

Leave a Reply

