I Have Confidence in Me

Inspired by Daily Prompt: I Have Confidence in Me

I’m back! My exams are over and I hope I did well.

So let me start off my comeback post with this topic from Daily Prompt.

Are you good at what you do? What would you like to be better at.

I am good at Malay Language. But, I would still like to be better at it because it’s been long since I wrote an article in Malay.

I used to intern at the Malay newspaper after I graduated from polytechnic. After the internship ended, I continued writing with them on a freelance basis. But it has been some time since I did it, until very recently.

Just last Saturday I went to an event to cover and write about it in Malay Language and although on the whole, I was fine but there were some instances where I found myself stuck at some words. It is not easy to write a business article in Malay. But it’s thrilling and satisfying once I have completed it.

I love to read Malay novels because there is just something about the Malay Language that is beautiful.

Another language I would like to be better at is Arabic Language.

The Quran is in Arabic and Alhamdulillah I can read it fluently, but I cannot converse in Arabic fluently.

My Arabic is broken – in the sense that I can join some words and make a broken sentence that is somehow understandable, which was what I did during my umrah trip in 2009.

There was a time when the shopkeeper gave me the wrong change and I had to try and converse in a way that she would understand – and to my happiness it worked! She gave me back my intended change.

And then there was the time in one of the grand mosques where an Arabic women was sitting beside me and I wanted to try and make new friends using the little Arabic I know. And Alhamdulillah, it worked too!

So yeah, I really do want to get better at conversing in Arabic. They say practice makes perfect right?

P.S.: Makeful Monday is now Motivation Monday!

Leave a Reply

