The Engagement, in a nutshell

Starting off Wedding Wednesday with a post on my engagement on 23 December 2012.

me n fruits

The date coincides with the 6th year of my late dad’s passing on 23 December 2006, hence we had a tahlil and engagement on the same day. The original date was actually earlier, but due to some “unforeseen circumstances” the engagement happened to fall on this day. Despite these unforeseen circumstances (which I later learn are a common predicament in wedding planning), I would have to say Alhamdulillah, as the event had went well for both our families.

sign2

What was supposed to be a small event in my head, became a not-so-small event in reality. With the tahlil in plan, it meant more guests from my side and with his big family, I nearly died when he told me 40 people will be coming from his side. OMA! (Oh My Allah!). The plan was that my family members would come at 12 plus and the tahlil to be around around after zuhur. Then his family would arrive around 3 plus and that’s when the engagement session will commence.

the spread

The loot! It’s funny I told my family I wanted the theme to be gold and turquoise… I had in my head turquoise green, like those cupcakes I ordered (center) and the family came with all sorts of turquoise shades (see those turquoise blue and gold cupcakes? Yeah.). Rule no. 1: Always be specific especially when it comes to your family members. Anyway, I must say it gave me goosebumps to see both our names on the cake like so:

cakepolkadotp cupcakes

His loot was more cohesive, with purple and lace done by his sister-in-law.

his side loot

We had the blue hantaran cake, chocolate cake, kek lapis, baskets of candies, dried fruits, mini cupcakes and pulut kuning in cute little golden jars. Distributed these to the rest of the family who stayed at the end of the day.

me n mum

Oh mummy dearest, what would I ever do without you… However. Mum was excited and of course, pretty stressed up with the whole thing which made her jittery and annoyed at every single thing which in turn made me jittery and annoyed at every single thing… With the huge crowd that we were expecting, my mum, aunts and grandma had ganged up and wanted to have a small makan-makan downstairs…which totally conflicted with my idea of a small and intimate engagement. I mean, it’s not like I live in a two-storey bungalow or something..

crowdcrowd2

And it seems that the crowd, his side of the family who arrived slightly before 4pm agreed with them. So I lost. They won, hands down and I was in no position to fight (haha) being in my room hiding from all the crowd. Shy lah ok! So many people came just to see me… Which was why prior to the event I bought a dusty pink & maroon chiffon and satin gown from Lulu Alhadad, and asked my cousin to make me up; my cousin is no pro but she’s awesome possum. Look at her beautiful handiwork (me)!

me & yati

My granduncle, Kaik Ghazali (below, left) was the representative from my side, and the two pakciks were representatives from his side (whom names I can’t remember, but its ok I have a lifetime to start remembering them). Kaik Ghazali is one of my dad’s closest uncle and he used to be a teacher for many years. His elder brother, my grandfather had passed on in 1995 while I was in primary 2. And my dad, obviously I miss him so and wish he was here but it’s time to be brave and embrace a new chapter in my life, InsyaAllah.

kaik ghazali

On who is going to be my wali for my akad nikah, it is most probably going to be my dearest younger brother who is just 1 year younger than me. He’s nervous, but I told him he doesn’t have to do he talking. The kadi will do it, but you’ll be my wali, ok? Haha.

bro n me2

After the whole discussion in the living room, his auntie who is the eldest in the family came to my room – followed by many others – to place the ring in my fingers. There were so many people and so many cameras I swear I have never smiled for the camera so much in my life.

his elder council

Afterwards they all went down to enjoy some food…

table buffet

More photos of me and my dearests! Siblings, cousins, grandmas, aunts, closest poly mates and secondary school buddies.

me n sibs 2cousinsgrandmasaunties

me hazzy wanis me n 4 girls 2

And so that was my engagement in a nutshell.

What made me happy was that everyone got together and my family members all contributed something for the event. One of my aunts made me the flower bouquet, my cousin Kak Fadilah helped order a cake for me even though it was last minute (due to another unforeseen circumstances…), my aunt Cik Hasiyah gave us two baskets; one with cupcakes and one with chocs and candies, my grandaunties baked a kek lapis cempedak and currypuffs to give to his family, and another grandaunt gave mini fruit tarts as part of the food table for guests.

Even though I just wanted a small and simple engagement, it seemed that Allah had other plans for me; he wanted me to be happy as well despite not having my dad with me by presenting me with my (big) family and reminding me how much I am loved. So Alhamdulillah, for how the event turned out.

Oh and in case any one is wondering, he did not come over but did wear a baju kurung of similar maroon shade in his house just so we matched even though we were in two different places. His idea, not mine. He is sentimental like that. It’s not customary for the guy to come by, and we had already arranged beforehand for him not to come to my house during the engagement day (he came along with his immediate family previously during the merisik session). Anyway, both of us would have been too shy to face everyone together. Haha.

And now, I have approximately 4 and a half months to the wedding! May Allah ease my affairs and make my heart stronger in faith InsyaAllah, ameen.

One thought on “The Engagement, in a nutshell

Leave a Reply

