A Tribute to Criticism

Daily Prompt: Thank You

The internet is full of rants. Help tip the balance: today, simply be thankful for something (or someone).

Criticism. I have always had a love-hate relationship with criticism (leaning more towards the hate).

When it comes to compliments, you can see me smiling the whole day thinking of it. Likewise when it comes to being criticized, my whole day goes by with that criticism in mind.

Lately however, it seems that the All-Knowing has been trying to tell me to suck it up, accept it, be OK with it and rise above the criticism.

I know these criticisms only serve to make you better, but why does it have to be so painful?

Because the best lessons come from the most painful experiences.

And sometimes only through painful experiences do we get closer to Him.

Allah has mentioned this in surah An-Nahl, verse 53: “And whatever you have of favor – it is from Allah. But only when adversity touches you, to Him you cry for help.”

However, something interesting happened through these criticisms. Something magical started to unveil. It made me think of my strengths, and that I should go ahead with the fitrah that Allah has guided me through. At least, when you are criticized for following your fitrah, you are standing for something.

“You have enemies? Good. That means you’ve stood up for something, sometime in your life.” – Winston Churchill.

Like my ustadh in my Tuesdays “Don’t Be Sad” class (based on the book of a similar title) says, “We can view criticisms positively as a way to improve ourselves. In our distractions, Allah sends others as reminders.”

And last but not least, Aristotle said, “Criticism is something you can avoid easily – by saying nothing, doing nothing and being nothing.”

So to Criticism, I don’t necessarily like you, but I thank you.

3 thoughts on “A Tribute to Criticism

Leave a Reply

