The Blessing of a Name

Daily Prompt: Name that… You!

Do you know the meaning of your name, and why your parents chose it? Do you think it suits you? What about your children’s names?

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

My full name is Siti Mardhiah and it is in Arabic language. “Siti” means “miss” and “Mardhiah” means “the one who pleases God”. In Malay it would mean “yang diredhai”. Kind of hard to translate it into English actually, but this is as close as it comes to the word “redha”. So if I were to lay it down literally in full, it would mean “The miss who pleases God”. Not bad for a name, I think.

I don’t know why my parents chose this name and I have never really asked them. I’m thankful they did because I can’t imagine having any other name. I think it suits me as I feel it is not a very common name but it is not a very uncommon name either. Somewhere in the middle just like me. Plus, the meaning is beautiful. I hope to be one of the people who pleases God and God is pleased with too, insyaAllah!

2 thoughts on “The Blessing of a Name

Leave a Reply

