This Ramadhan…

This Ramadhan, I was blessed Allah prepared me for it by reminding me through Productive Muslim, Ramadhan preparation lectures and videos, before and during the whole month of Ramadhan (like via Quran Weekly.).

This Ramadhan, I was blessed Allah gave me the chance to attend a Green Iftar at Masjid Darul Aman. I love the feeling of togetherness when you break fast at a mosque and eat with fellow sisters, dulang-style.

This Ramadhan, I was blessed Allah gave me the time and energy to perform my Taraweeh prayers at Masjid Alkaff Kampung Melayu and Masjid Darul Aman. Seeing familiar faces in the mosques, greeting them with salam and building your ukhwwah feels amazing, Alhamdulillah.

This Ramadhan, I was blessed Allah gave me the opportunity to attend an Islamic Funeral Rites Course, with my best friend of 13 years. It was eye-opening and made me realize how beautiful Islam is, so much so that even when you are no longer alive, your body have to be treated with full service and respect. It also made me realize how important we as Muslims have to equip ourselves with this knowledge because we have a moral responsibility towards one another.

This Ramadhan, I was blessed Allah gave me another opportunity to learn and attend a Muslim Traveller’s Workshop with my auntie who recently donned the hijab. Exploring the world can be an ibadah too!

This Ramadhan, I was blessed Allah gave me the time and energy to stay and do my night prayers or qiyamullail at Muhajirin mosque with my saff sisters. Seeing the struggle and strength of my friends who are mothers of young children bring their toddlers to the mosque, gave me tremendous strength. It also reminded me that time is very, very precious.

This Ramadhan, I was blessed Allah gave me a chance to lead a jemaah prayer with my secondary school friends – for the first time in ten years. I was nervous but Alhamdulillah, He guided me and it was a beautiful moment shared among the four of us. It also made me realize that the jemaah are more honorable than the Imam – because without the jemaah there will be no “Imam”. I remember an Ustaz ever shared that the students are more honorable than the Ustaz because without the students wanting to learn, there will be no teacher. MashaAllah, how Allah makes us stay humble.

This Ramadhan, I was blessed Allah gave me a chance to visit my late father’s grave and make du’a for him. It was the “closure” I needed for missing my dad as I am planning for my wedding next year.

And this Syawal, despite living next door to Masjid Alkaff all my life, I went to the mosque on the morning of 1st Syawal to perform the Solat Hari Raya ‘Aidilftri (‘Eid prayer) – for the first time ever. For the first time, I truly felt the meaning of “raikan kemenangan setelah Ramadhan”. Allahu Akbar!

This Ramadan, counting my blessings and reminding myself to be thankful.

 “And He gave you all of that you asked for. And if you were to count His blessings, you would not be able to count them all…” (Ibrahim, 14:34)

Alhamdulillah.

One thought on “This Ramadhan…

Leave a Reply

